Brite Essentials 6V Floating Lantern

Brite Essentials™ 6V Floating Lantern is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_EFL6V-B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Brightness when you need it. The durable construction holds up through all your adventures.

Details

Model: BEKLN6V-BTA

Features and Benefits:

  • Battery Run Time: 3 Hours
  • (1) 6-Volt RAYOVAC® Battery Included

California Residents – Click Here for Proposition 65 Warning
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Flashight, Great Value I wan't expecting much for a flashlight that sells for less than $4 and that includes the battery. Surprisingly bright well focused beam. Just make sure you remove the plastic cap from the battery and that the metal contact strips are lined up with the switch when you screw the top back on. I plan on buying another one.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good flashlight Bought one of these to use instead of my Sportsman 301 lantern (the batteries are too hard to find), and it looks brighter! It was pretty easy to use. Just take off the plastic cap on the battery, drop it into the flashlight with the springs up (rotation doesn't matter), and screw on the top (only goes on one way).
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RAYOVAC Repairs Hi, I took the battery out to change it and one of the terminals came off the attachment to the screen and bulb and I'm not sure how to reattach it. One side is still attached but the other has come off and is attached to a bronze "L" shaped piece of metal. I really like the flashlight and would hate to have to toss it. Can you help? I do have a soldering gun and know how to reattach if I can just figure where to put it. Thanks.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from aside from no instructions, this is great figured out how to put in battery...snowstorm coming.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Light - It takes a village to get it together Bought this tonight for an urgent need. I couldn't figure out what the problem was when I tried to put it together/ Bless you all for clearing up the problem instantly. Thank all of you for the great instructions.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product not intuitive. Instructions needed! I bought this for 4 bucks and wasted an hour trying to get it together. I finally looked it up, found this site, read the reviews and within 30 seconds had an amazing bright working flashlight. So my opinion? Awesome light for the money but seriously needs to have instructions included. Even if it's little print on the cap that says "remove me." :)
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a new rayovac to replace my new one I bought this this morning. Had trouble putting the battery in immediately!!! If my dear sweet husband was alive he would have known just what to do because he always did things like this and now I have to!!! Well, thanks to all of you who have written reviews I now know to remove the "black thing". I got a good laugh out of all of this
Date published: 2015-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect for the price I bought 4. One for each car. Mine the wifes and the kids. For the price and with a battery there is no better deal. Just leave it in the trunk.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from performed for what i need Thank goodness someone else wrote to take the black cap off the battery or i would never of got it. I bought it to use to go out to the garage but leave it in my car. For the price I'm happy!
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Instructions are lacking. I attempted to load in battery and shut it. I didn't realize that I didn't take the cap off that's protecting the spring in the center. After that it was a breeze! I felt stupid but thanks to a previous review I was able to work it out!
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just bought it with several much better and more expensive flashlights - expecting several days of storms. I worked almost an hour trying to get the glass top screwed back on -- would not work. Finally went to the internet and typed in www.rayovac.com and found the answer -- to take the black cap off the one spring. It is working now. Needs to have instructions. I almost went back to Lowes to have them install the battery. Would recommend to friend only if I told her how to put the battery in and the top back on.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs info on removing plastic cap I received this as a gift. Really need to add a note on the packaging about removing the plastic cap from the battery. It took me 10 minutes to try and get the lid back on the flashlight before I got irritated and got on-line to see what I was doing wrong.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please include instructions! If not for the comments of other people on here, I would never figure out. Wasted so much time. Like everyone else said, please include instructions!
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Product for the value If it were not for this website I would not have known to take the black circular notch off. Please place instructions with your product. I mean it literally took me days off and on to get the lantern working.... That's a little ridiculous.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from That black thingy and... I agree with everyone else. Put instructions with it. I was looking for which direction the positive terminal was supposed to face and no + anywhere. Thanks to previous comments, once I took the black thing off, it worked.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok TELL customer to remove black thing! Spent forever trying to put together ..had to find this site to know how to put together!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REMOVE BLACK CAP on middle battery spring! The instructions (NONE), could have saved many folks a lot of time by telling you to remove the black cap on 6 volt battery before trying to screw the top on.... UGH! Other than that, I like it.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs instructions I had to come here to figure out what I was doing wrong!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't drop it I had mine for over a year. Did not use it much. It mostly hang in the kitchen. My 10 year old son dropped it and it never worked again after that. I changed the bulb and batteries. That did not fix it.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I need help putting battery in! I worked and worked to get this light to work...after turning the battery in every directions and still nothing. There was a coil and a rubber cap.....I just fell into nirvana when I just happened to take the rubber cap off and viola it works. You really need to have some sort of instructions on packaging!!!! There goes a half an hour I will never get back! It's not as bright as the one I had before..it had either many lights or something; this one only has 1 stream of light
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Include instructions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Instead of your generic responses, why don't you just include instructions? I had the same experience.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bought this at Lowes Grocery this a.m. Took it home-put it together and no light. Spent 45 minutes with it and finally kissed 10.00 goodbye into garbage. Never again a Rayovac.
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable Switch I purchased different 6V Rayovac model (the 85 lumen unit) which has an identical body and switch. Upon startup the switch immediately failed. This is especially ill-suited for a light intended to be reserved for emergencies.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'll 2nd that - NO INSTRUCTIONS!! I COMPLETELY AGREE with NO INTRUCTIONS!! Wasted too much of my time trying to figure it out. Makes me hate it!!
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!!! Are you kidding? You can't put somewhere on the label that the black cap needs to come off and rotation of the battery doesn't matter?! And people have been complaining about this issue for YEARS?!!? Not impressed with the brightness either. No more rayovac anything for me.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from INSTRUCTIONS! I brought this battery recently. No instructions. I am reading that for over 2 years your customers have complained about this. No video on how to assemble. After about an hour I through this lantern away. No thanks. Waste of money and my time during an emergency of Hurricane Harvey.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Warning- do not try this at home I bought this today and spent 40 minutes trying to get the battery in and the lid replaced. I'm a reasonably intelligent adult. I finally realized that it might not be me and Googled a solution. I finally got the thing to work but have a feeeling once the battery runs out the whole thing will go in hte garbage.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No instructions; just a warning The warning tells you the battery "may explode or leak if inserted improperly," and then they provide no instructions on how to insert it. On principle, I wouldn't buy their products again.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wheres the instructions??? I bought this light but cant figure which side the springs on the battery go. Tried rotating the battery- no luck. Also dont know which way the plate where the bulb is , needs to be positioned.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No instructions, if not for the internet it would be in the trash I bought this at a dollar store because we were expecting storms. I got home and spent at least 45 minutes trying to screw the cap on.. I nearly broke it. I wanted to take it back to the store, but the packaging is basically a sticker you have to rip off. If it wasn't for the internet, I probably would never have figured it out. How could anyone who has never used this type of flashlight know to remove the the little black cap that looks like a sewing thimble from the battery??!! I'm lucky it works now. Rayovac, please spend the extra pennies to include instructions. That's the only reason I gave a poor rating.
Date published: 2014-06-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_EFL6V-B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 30ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT