Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern

Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 55.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

A camper’s best friend. This ultra bright (300 lumens) lantern can light up a 50-foot surrounding radius on high, or you can drop it down to low or nightlight mode when less light is needed. Batteries and bulbs are easy to replace, so you’ll always have a steady source of light.

Details

Model: SPLN8D-TA

Features and Benefits:

  • 3 modes: 300 Lumens (150 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Beam distance: 15 Meters (10 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Battery run time (alkaline batteries incl.): 14 Hours (30 Hours Energy Saver Mode)
  • 3 Foot Drop Test Performance (1 Meter)
  • ANSI FL1 Water Resistant
  • Lights up to a 50 Foot Radius
  • Easy battery replacement system
  • Extra durable rubber base and handle
  • Water Resistant
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • (8) D RAYOVAC®

California Residents – Click Here for Proposition 65 Warning
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The lantern works wonderful We now have 4 of these lanterns. They put out great light and are so easy to turn on and off. It is also easy to change the batteries when needed.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product This is the third time I have purchased this product - twice locally - and when it was no longer available locally, I searched for it on line and was directed to the Rayovac Center where I made my third purchase. They make an impressive gift and can be purchased at a fair price without breaking the bank. Once when there was a blackout in my community I recommended it to a neighbor and he went out to purchase the exact same one. Now we both have one in case of future blackouts and no other one will do.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great versatility I got this lamp because of all the power outages this winter. Proved to be an excellent choice. Very bright for a medium size room with very good battery life. I couldn't find anything on the market to compete with this lamp.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best RayoVac Lantern ever , Great light I have three of these lanterns & bought two for my 81 & 83 year old parents ! Great for power outages if you don't have a wholehouse generator or just a portable ! Good bright light & great for camping ! Doing work on cars is a must & beats a dropcord ! 300 Lumens 4 watt are great for having in your car for a flat tire if you don't have AAA ! They fit Right under vehicle undercarriage too ! Get these lights online & keep on hand !
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Emergency Lantern I purchased this lantern for use during electricity failures for my home. It provides excellent lighting output even using one bulb. The batteries are easy to replace and remove.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was a Lightsaver!! I had bought this for my husband for Christmas and it was still in the packing box. 4 days before Christmas an ice storm hit and we were without power. I took it out of the packing box, apologizing for revealing the present early. I was delighted in the amount of light it cast. I carried it around from room to room, out to the barn and back to the house. It did exactly what I bought it for - emergency lighting! Too bad the solution for no heat wasn't resolved as easily! We were the lucky ones that lived without for 3 days while others were without for 7 days in 20 degree weather!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used one before and was very pleased. I like the fact that I can use the lantern with 1 or 2 bulbs. The area that it lights up is quite satisfactory. Easy to use.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Lantern on the Market I own 4 of these Lanterns now for camping and emergency power outages during storms. I first came across this Model while in the Military working in the middle east. This is a high quality and durable light. I am glad I wrote down the model number and was able to find it. I searched all the outdoor sports stores in my area and couldn't find one. I had to call and Order straight from Rayovac. Make sure if you buy this to Order extra bulbs. The bulbs are hard to find.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product Excellent product,,,,,,,,,i have been using in my camping so far it work great
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The brightest light When Hurricane Sandy left our home without light, my grandmother's Rayovac lantern was extremely helpful. My dad recently ordered "Brooklyn Lanterns." He saw a commercial and thought the lantern would be sufficient. They weren't, so he returned it. Rayovac lanterns are much better.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Lantern My new lantern arrived sooner than it was expected which was great. The addition of the night light was a great improvement. Great job to the Rayovac team. Regards, M Perry
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was able to read an entire book with the light from the lantern. During hurricane Sandy it was a life saver, so much so that I purchased five more as gifts to my neighbors. We (all) banded together at that time and shared. They LOVED my Lanterns!
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT LIGHT!!! Use this in power outages and it is great. The three adjustable settings, brightness and portability are wonderful. Bought two more for the house loved the first one so much
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lantern had 1 before super storm sandy worked great for the week without power , After the week was over and power came back got on line and ordered 3 more ,Would highly recomend
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful lantern I used this during the hurricane and it worked great. the problem i have is one light is out and i can't find a replacement. does anyone know if the 9W lantern bulb rayovac sells will fit in their old lanterns? the bulb i'm looking for has a different number- FLS/E 9W 5200K. thanks
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the features Just bought this Rayovac 18 watt twin tube fluorescent lantern due to hurricane sandy blowing through the Philadelphia area starting tonight. Just put the batteries in and to my surprise it was very bright, it covers a 50 ft. area, which is great for me, not having to hold a flashlight, can carry around the house with a handle, with 3 light settings, and also has a small Led night light inside, can't wait to use it, but hope I won't have too. Smile JJ
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is very close to daylight at night for someone with visual impairements. I am legally blind and hard of hearing. I tried walking and sitting outside with it since my sister got it for me. It really works in the dark. Next year, I'll be taking it to blind camp with me up in Weld, Maine. I would like to see you at some point put into the light an audible tone and a light up system to let a user of this great product of yours to let someone know with visual and or hearing handicaps know when the batteries are good, Medioca or Low. The Idea would be to have it color coded. Green for good, Yellow or amber for Medioca and red to indicate that it is time to change the batteries. The audio tones I would suggest be a male or female voice that says at different points in time, battery Level excellent or full life, Battery level Medioca, geting close to time to change the batteries, and Battery level low to indicate that it is time to change the batteries.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lantern Awesome lantern. Very bright and well made. Would recommend.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lantern my only wish, is when, when when when can you develop an led replacement bulb for this lantern. wow, i would pay 20 bucks each for bulbs for the five of them i own. just for the record. when??? please do this.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice presentation I have a problem whit lantern I can light on when stand up this work fine only if I put on the side any sugestions
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent We bought this today for Hurricane Joaquin and it works.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it serve my purpose it is light weight and easy to carry around strongly builded.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like a Coleman Lantern but Quiet With frequent power outages in my area of Dallas, this lantern has changed my life. In the dark for days at a time, with only candles and a small flashlight, this fine lantern puts out light as bright as a Coleman but without the noise.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I had it during Hurricane Sandy. Could have used these lanterns during Hurricane Sandy - managed with flashlights and candles. A friend recommended this lantern, so now I'm more prepared when the power goes out longer than anticipated. The price was right and shipping was prompt.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to have when the power goes out. I bought this lantern at the recommendation of a friend during a long power outage. While I hope not to have to use it, it will be great to have. Really bright, easy to use.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One lamp out I liked it the first time, then weeks later I tried to use it and only one lamp is working, I swapped bulbs and both are good on the single side, so the bulbs is not out, I did get a new bulb anyway and made no difference, would love for it too work again!
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from rayovac twin tube latern I bought years ago, live in Florida, only really used when necessary, worked great ! Have been using more lately for a reading lamp, I have replaced batteries, just recently only 1 tube will light up, so i replaced both bulbs, so disappointed that bulbs havent fixed problem, only 1 side will light up, enjoyed it so much when both bulbs would work at same time, it was great to use when it worked properly. I would really like to get a replacement, it does state it has a lifetime warranty.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bright and reliable I've had the fluorescent lantern for more than 5 years and it has worked well during power interruptions, working in my boat at night, and working in the home attic. Very good area ligh. I have intermittently experienced the issue described in other reviews where only one bulb lights in bright mode but a couple twists of the power switch back and forth resolves it. My only issue with the fluorescent lantern is that the knob for the battery compartment has become detached from the steel knurled shaft, so it just spins in place without turning (loosening) the shaft. To remove the battery cover I need to twist off the knob and loosen the shaft with a pair of vice grips. Other than that it's been a reliable light that serves its purpose well.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Half is great Like others, half of it works. Only one light will light up. It worked great for about 6 months with very minimal use. I took it apart to clean contacts and even checked the soldering on the printed circuit board. Everything is ok. Swapping light bulbs shows the bulbs are OK. The contacts on the switch and the bulbs are making positive contact. Some component (resistor, mosfet, capacator) failed. Not sure which one...
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from two years old now , but both bulbs will not work together, single yes,
Date published: 2016-03-13
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT