Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern

Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 53.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

29.99 In Stock

A camper’s best friend. This ultra bright (300 lumens) lantern can light up a 50-foot surrounding radius on high, or you can drop it down to low or nightlight mode when less light is needed. Batteries and bulbs are easy to replace, so you’ll always have a steady source of light.

Details

Model: SPLN8D-TA

Features and Benefits:

  • 3 modes: 300 Lumens (150 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Beam distance: 15 Meters (10 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Battery run time (alkaline batteries incl.): 14 Hours (30 Hours Energy Saver Mode)
  • 3 Foot Drop Test Performance (1 Meter)
  • ANSI FL1 Water Resistant
  • Lights up to a 50 Foot Radius
  • Easy battery replacement system
  • Extra durable rubber base and handle
  • Water Resistant
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • (8) D RAYOVAC®

California Residents – Click Here for Proposition 65 Warning
Rated 3 out of 5 by from rayovac twin tube latern I bought years ago, live in Florida, only really used when necessary, worked great ! Have been using more lately for a reading lamp, I have replaced batteries, just recently only 1 tube will light up, so i replaced both bulbs, so disappointed that bulbs havent fixed problem, only 1 side will light up, enjoyed it so much when both bulbs would work at same time, it was great to use when it worked properly. I would really like to get a replacement, it does state it has a lifetime warranty.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great until i changed batteries for hurricane Matt Great until i changed batteries for hurricane Matthew... once I changed the batteries it didnt go on so I found that the bottom wasnt tight enough so the more i tightened the more the light stayed on...I tightened it more and heard a snap and now i cant tighten it down at all and it wont work at all.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Drains batteries quickly! I used this lantern one time for about 2 hours on a camping trip with new batteries. It worked great and was very bright. However, the second time I tried to use it, one bulb would barely come on at the medium setting, and neither light would come on at the high setting. I tried new batteries, and both bulbs work. This will be very expensive to operate if the 8 D batteries it requires only last a couple of hours each time.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lights No working Properly We bought this for Hurricanes. And went to use it for a camping trip and the only setting that works is the one bulb setting but when you place on the two blub setting it does not work. We switch the blubs around and the blubs are fine batteries are brand new. We are upset that this is not working properly.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Check the Batteries I purchased for our frequent power outages and it worked very well. At the last outage, only one bulb would work. I purchased a new bulb but it didn't help. Switched the bulbs around and the new bulb worked but still only one. Finally guessed that low batteries might be enough to light one bulb but not both. Checked the batteries and found them all to be at 1.1 v instead of 1.5. After replacing the batteries, both original bulbs work fine.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bright and reliable I've had the fluorescent lantern for more than 5 years and it has worked well during power interruptions, working in my boat at night, and working in the home attic. Very good area ligh. I have intermittently experienced the issue described in other reviews where only one bulb lights in bright mode but a couple twists of the power switch back and forth resolves it. My only issue with the fluorescent lantern is that the knob for the battery compartment has become detached from the steel knurled shaft, so it just spins in place without turning (loosening) the shaft. To remove the battery cover I need to twist off the knob and loosen the shaft with a pair of vice grips. Other than that it's been a reliable light that serves its purpose well.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this Years ago I bought a Rayovac lantern, an dit is my go to light source in power failures. I wanted additional ones for other rooms, so I bought this new one. This is like the evil twin of my lantern. Here is what's wrong with it: 1. It has a horrible ochemical smell. I guess this is the plastic outgassing, but it is nauseating, and I couldn't keep the lantern in the house. 2. There is a design flaw in the battery compartment cover. In order to replace and tighten the cover, you have to align one center screw in the cover into a hole in the lantern. But you can't see either the screw or the hole when the cover is in position. I am not going to the trouble of returning this, but I won;t buy anything from Rayovac again.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice presentation I have a problem whit lantern I can light on when stand up this work fine only if I put on the side any sugestions
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Due to power outages in our area, I bought this lantern to help us through the dark nights. It works the best of any I have seen or used in the past and lights up a room tremendously. Best part is its portability and rugged construction. I would buy another one if need be and would highly recommend this to friends and family. Our power was out for two days, and we kept this light on the low setting the whole time and it worked great.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Issue with Light We purchased this two years ago for emergency lighting. Used twice for a few hours each. Replaced batteries after second use. Third time, one light would not light. Reversed bulbs, changed batteries. No improvement. Any ideas.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment I purchased this lantern years ago for camping and its a workhorse using it for everything, still using the original bulbs even though its been banged around. Well worth the price
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have two of these Lanterns they are the best. I live in Staten Island New York city during hurricane Sandy I was without power for a few days. These two Lanterns got me through a dark period. If I ever have to replace them I would buy again in a heart beat. These Lanterns are safer then gas Lanterns.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Half is great Like others, half of it works. Only one light will light up. It worked great for about 6 months with very minimal use. I took it apart to clean contacts and even checked the soldering on the printed circuit board. Everything is ok. Swapping light bulbs shows the bulbs are OK. The contacts on the switch and the bulbs are making positive contact. Some component (resistor, mosfet, capacator) failed. Not sure which one...
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from two years old now , but both bulbs will not work together, single yes,
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent We bought this today for Hurricane Joaquin and it works.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it serve my purpose it is light weight and easy to carry around strongly builded.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like a Coleman Lantern but Quiet With frequent power outages in my area of Dallas, this lantern has changed my life. In the dark for days at a time, with only candles and a small flashlight, this fine lantern puts out light as bright as a Coleman but without the noise.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lighting! I have one for every room when the power goes out....Lights room completely! A must have during severe storms. Also good for camping.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very bright lantern I have used my lanterns on several occasions. Unfortunately my neighborhood suffers power outages at least 6 times a year. I can use these lanterns to shower & shave because they illuminate any room. Also, my neighbors have often borrowed my 2nd lantern because they can see the brightness from the street.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The lantern works wonderful We now have 4 of these lanterns. They put out great light and are so easy to turn on and off. It is also easy to change the batteries when needed.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should not advertise the "water resisitant" Everyone knows rubber is water resistant but it does not keep water out for sure. The bottom was in water for a while and water poured in, shorting out the batteries and both bulbs. Night light still works but now not sure if it will work if I replace the bulbs. I doubt it actually. When working it was awesome. Just drop any hint that it is water anything.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product This is the third time I have purchased this product - twice locally - and when it was no longer available locally, I searched for it on line and was directed to the Rayovac Center where I made my third purchase. They make an impressive gift and can be purchased at a fair price without breaking the bank. Once when there was a blackout in my community I recommended it to a neighbor and he went out to purchase the exact same one. Now we both have one in case of future blackouts and no other one will do.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great versatility I got this lamp because of all the power outages this winter. Proved to be an excellent choice. Very bright for a medium size room with very good battery life. I couldn't find anything on the market to compete with this lamp.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best RayoVac Lantern ever , Great light I have three of these lanterns & bought two for my 81 & 83 year old parents ! Great for power outages if you don't have a wholehouse generator or just a portable ! Good bright light & great for camping ! Doing work on cars is a must & beats a dropcord ! 300 Lumens 4 watt are great for having in your car for a flat tire if you don't have AAA ! They fit Right under vehicle undercarriage too ! Get these lights online & keep on hand !
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Emergency Lantern I purchased this lantern for use during electricity failures for my home. It provides excellent lighting output even using one bulb. The batteries are easy to replace and remove.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was a Lightsaver!! I had bought this for my husband for Christmas and it was still in the packing box. 4 days before Christmas an ice storm hit and we were without power. I took it out of the packing box, apologizing for revealing the present early. I was delighted in the amount of light it cast. I carried it around from room to room, out to the barn and back to the house. It did exactly what I bought it for - emergency lighting! Too bad the solution for no heat wasn't resolved as easily! We were the lucky ones that lived without for 3 days while others were without for 7 days in 20 degree weather!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used one before and was very pleased. I like the fact that I can use the lantern with 1 or 2 bulbs. The area that it lights up is quite satisfactory. Easy to use.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only half works I have had this light for a couple of years now. For the past year only one of the light bulbs would light up. I just thought maybe the bulb is dead and ignored it. Today I changed the bulb to find out that it still works. It only lights up one of the bulbs; and yes I did turn the setting to the two bulbs. Everything else works, besides this. Not sure what happened.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Lantern on the Market I own 4 of these Lanterns now for camping and emergency power outages during storms. I first came across this Model while in the Military working in the middle east. This is a high quality and durable light. I am glad I wrote down the model number and was able to find it. I searched all the outdoor sports stores in my area and couldn't find one. I had to call and Order straight from Rayovac. Make sure if you buy this to Order extra bulbs. The bulbs are hard to find.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product Excellent product,,,,,,,,,i have been using in my camping so far it work great
Date published: 2013-06-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT