Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern

Sportsman Essentials® 8D Fluorescent Durable Camping Lantern is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 55.
  • y_2018, m_10, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

A camper’s best friend. This ultra bright (300 lumens) lantern can light up a 50-foot surrounding radius on high, or you can drop it down to low or nightlight mode when less light is needed. Batteries and bulbs are easy to replace, so you’ll always have a steady source of light.

Details

Model: SPLN8D-TA

Features and Benefits:

  • 3 modes: 300 Lumens (150 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Beam distance: 15 Meters (10 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Battery run time (alkaline batteries incl.): 14 Hours (30 Hours Energy Saver Mode)
  • 3 Foot Drop Test Performance (1 Meter)
  • ANSI FL1 Water Resistant
  • Lights up to a 50 Foot Radius
  • Easy battery replacement system
  • Extra durable rubber base and handle
  • Water Resistant
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • (8) D RAYOVAC®

California Residents – Click Here for Proposition 65 Warning
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only half works I have had this light for a couple of years now. For the past year only one of the light bulbs would light up. I just thought maybe the bulb is dead and ignored it. Today I changed the bulb to find out that it still works. It only lights up one of the bulbs; and yes I did turn the setting to the two bulbs. Everything else works, besides this. Not sure what happened.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bright, but poor battery life It is physically impossible for a light to use 18 watts for 15 hours on 8 D cells. That would be 270 watt hours or 33.75 watt hours per cell. Furthermore, at 18 watts, the lamp would draw more than 2amps per cell. The larger the draw on a cell, the less energy you can ultimately get out of a cell. It is unlikely you would get even 4 hours of run-time from 8 D cells at 18 watts. It is further confused by calling it a 9 watt lantern, but saying it has an 18 watt bulb. Even at 9 watts, 15 hours is quite long and would consume 135WH
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Left dimwitted I liked the feature with hi, med, low settings...until the hi setting stopped working. Checked bulb, changed batteries, checked connections, still nothing. Kind of left me in the dark.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great lantern but.... This is a great lantern but I have been trying to find the replacement bubs for 10 minutes. You're RayoVac; improve your website so it's easy to find the replacement bulbs PLEASE! This should be Marketing 101!
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bulbs stopp working I would have expected that bulbs would have lasted a long time. I only use it for rare times when electricity goes out. disappointing.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only One Side works after a couple years Defective Defective product. I loved the lamp when it worked. But after only 2 years, usingit sparingly on camping trips, one side stopped working. I switched the bulbs from one side to the other, and it is NOT the bulb. One side of the lantern no longer works. Seems to be a common problem with this model based on other reviews I see.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from one side works went to change bulbs and only one side works.so i read the revues,looks like this is a common thing,what to do?
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great until i changed batteries for hurricane Matt Great until i changed batteries for hurricane Matthew... once I changed the batteries it didnt go on so I found that the bottom wasnt tight enough so the more i tightened the more the light stayed on...I tightened it more and heard a snap and now i cant tighten it down at all and it wont work at all.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lights No working Properly We bought this for Hurricanes. And went to use it for a camping trip and the only setting that works is the one bulb setting but when you place on the two blub setting it does not work. We switch the blubs around and the blubs are fine batteries are brand new. We are upset that this is not working properly.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Issue with Light We purchased this two years ago for emergency lighting. Used twice for a few hours each. Replaced batteries after second use. Third time, one light would not light. Reversed bulbs, changed batteries. No improvement. Any ideas.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should not advertise the "water resisitant" Everyone knows rubber is water resistant but it does not keep water out for sure. The bottom was in water for a while and water poured in, shorting out the batteries and both bulbs. Night light still works but now not sure if it will work if I replace the bulbs. I doubt it actually. When working it was awesome. Just drop any hint that it is water anything.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One light working only .. After few hours of use, only one side was working. Then, changed light bulbs, and changed batteries, with no avail. Noticed that metal contacts were badly damaged by humidity. Don't buy this!
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only one light works We have had for several years, mostly sitting on a shelf in our closet. After using a couple times, only one light was working. I bought 2 new bulbs from rayovac thinking the bulb had burned out. This did not help. I don't want to try to return because the shipping cost more than the bulbs themselves. I changed the batteries as well. Nothinbg helped. There must be something wrong inside the lantern affecting one side. I am extremely disappointed that I cannot get both bulbs to work and get the full brightness of the lantern.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality and service I purchased this 1 yr ago and placed in on a shelf. My power went out 2 days ago. I put the brand new batteries in the light and one of the tubes flickered and then went out. I turned the light off and then back on. The second tube flickered and went out. After that, they were both dead though the top light continued to work. I called customer service and they said they would replace the lamp but I had to cover the cost of sending it back. This would essentially double the cost of the lamp. Not interested in doing this and likely getting back another dysfunctional lamp.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Drains batteries quickly! I used this lantern one time for about 2 hours on a camping trip with new batteries. It worked great and was very bright. However, the second time I tried to use it, one bulb would barely come on at the medium setting, and neither light would come on at the high setting. I tried new batteries, and both bulbs work. This will be very expensive to operate if the 8 D batteries it requires only last a couple of hours each time.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this Years ago I bought a Rayovac lantern, an dit is my go to light source in power failures. I wanted additional ones for other rooms, so I bought this new one. This is like the evil twin of my lantern. Here is what's wrong with it: 1. It has a horrible ochemical smell. I guess this is the plastic outgassing, but it is nauseating, and I couldn't keep the lantern in the house. 2. There is a design flaw in the battery compartment cover. In order to replace and tighten the cover, you have to align one center screw in the cover into a hole in the lantern. But you can't see either the screw or the hole when the cover is in position. I am not going to the trouble of returning this, but I won;t buy anything from Rayovac again.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great product. nice and bright. i am very pleased with the lantern. it's much brighter than I expected but that's what I needed. Tfabbyhanks for a great product.
Date published: 2013-04-01
  • y_2018, m_10, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP8D, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT