Workhorse Pro 2AA LED Virtually Indestructible Flashlight

Workhorse Pro™ 2AA LED Virtually Indestructible Flashlight is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 59.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_DIY2AA-BC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Reliable light in a durable package. The Virtually Indestructible Flashlight shines with powerful LEDs and an aluminum body that can survive a 30-foot drop. Plus, Energy Saver mode gives you extended use for the long haul.

Details

Model: DIY2AA-BTA

Features and Benefits:

  • High performance LEDs and 2 modes: 300 Lumens, (70 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Beam distance: 161 Meters, (85 Energy Saver Mode)
  • Battery run time (alkaline batteries incl.): 2 Hours, (12 Energy Saver Mode)
  • 30 Foot Drop Test Performance!
  • Rubber head and tail cap – shock absorbers; aluminum body - toughness
  • Impact resisting internal engineering; "protected" tactical tail cap switch
  • Ergonomic design with thumb area built in
  • Designed for maximum durability + simplicity
  • IPX4 water resistant
  • Lifetime guarantee
  • (2) AA RAYOVAC® alkaline batteries included

California Residents – Click Here for Proposition 65 Warning
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding value Bought this several weeks ago at Home Depot and am well pleased with the light output and size. Own a number of lights that were many times more expensive than this one and aren't as bright. Have already bought a second and will get two more for gifts. Neither I nor any family member is affiliated with Rayovac. Terrific value in this little light. Thank You
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great One click Britt next power saver. It's just basic real good flashlight! I'm happy. Going to get pack of rechargeable a good to go. Recommend sell like this- #1 one light two batteries #2 one light four rechargeable batteries with charger #3 one light two AA one light three triple AAs multi charger #4 1 AA 1 AAAA 1 Dx4 Mega Recharger (suggest buying regular batteries while charging)
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All Reviews, My Review Bought this light at an Air Force Base BX/Commissary. Usually the BX will carry good items. I intended to use a flashlight for security protocol. Flashlight would be on 5-10 min tops. Never had a problem with the light shutting off automatically after 30-seconds that some claimed. Who knows. Works good for me at the moment. Should provide instructions on package on the save-energy feature. Only knew about it from the Rayovac Review Rayovac CS response. Three clicks on the switch to save-energy mode.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden energy saving mode I just bought it yesterday and was irritated that I could not find instructions how to get energy saving mode. I turned it on and off a few times, one right after the other, and that's how I figured it out. Every other time you turn it back on, right one after the other, it's in energy saving mode. Why couldn't they just write that on the package
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A TIGER TO REMOVE FROM PACKAGE I wanted a high performance flashlight finally for our apt. & bought this 300 lumens flashlight at Home Depot today. I suggest Rayovac staff try to open the package and remove the flashlight. Unbelievable!! After inserting the batteries, my wife and I could not figure where the switch was until I went on to the internet. I am not a dummy. I have an MD degree and have been a professional furniture builder. I still cant figure where the switch is for low and high beam. Try including a few instructions in your next model.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update: Rayovac sent me a replacement After my initial review discussing the failed product, I was contacted by Rayovac regarding a replacement. These flashlights come with a lifetime guarantee so a replacement was offered. After an email correspondence, I received my replacement product in the mail. This one was black instead of my former camo version. I noted on the packaging that it was a 2016 model and also noticed some minor changes. For one, the LED emitter was obviously different from the older camo one. It was significantly bigger and threw a brighter and wider beam of light. While I liked the bright and narrow focus of the old one, this new one's beam is more usable and looks to have a higher lumen output. Overall, it looked to be an improvement over the older flashlight which I mailed back to Rayovac with their supplied return slip. I'm glad that I got my flashlight replaced and that Rayovac honored their guarantee.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Except For Switch I've had this light for about a year and it has been great until recently. The switch started malfunctioning and the light won't turn on sometimes. I couldn't find my dog last night and needed the light and it wouldn't turn on. I try it this morning and it's fine. Has there been a recall on the switch?
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tough as nails I have been using these lights now for 3 years and have as much as left them submersed in water for 4 weeks and came back and they still work, the only problem is that the switch gets hot when you use them for an extended time and they stop working (you have to let them cool off) the one I keep in my truck has never failed me. I would recommend these to anyone using them in a wet and rough environment.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18 months in and working great! I see all of the reviews discussing problems with the switch...mine has had none of these issues. Always worked correctly since day one! Not the brightest I have used but plenty bright around the house. It's ~6.5" long and ~1.5" diameter at the widest part of the rubber hood. Super solid and that means it is a bit heavy. You know you are holding a solid aluminum body. You could probably run over this with a car and it would still work. Bottom line is, I would buy it again (if I could find one) based on my experience.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A lot of light for the money! I got two of these from Home Depot Dec of 2015 and been really happy with them up until a few days ago when one of my flashlights button started acting up. Now I have one light that works great and one that comes on when it want's to do so lol when it does it works great.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Light I would have given the flash light 5 Stars if it came with a lanyard, I had to rig one up. Otherwise it appears to be good buy
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved the light!!! Hate the darkness. Had 2AA pro flashlight for almost 2 yrs now. Wife used it at work till it just shut off and left her in the dark. The 3 c version did the same to her about 2 weeks later. We love the flashlight just not the cut-off. Just broke the 2aa flashlight's tail cone. Recomend? no
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out Bought today prior to finding reviews on internet and worried about switch reliabilty which seems a frequent complaint. Packaging is indeed a problem to open withou slicing hand with box cutter. Ridiculous that there is no clue on how to switch hi to lo beam in packaging anywhere...must be customer service rep job insurance feature....
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rayovac Indestructible FL 100 lumens Bought this Flashlight for work, I'm exterminator and need a dependable small light for daily use. The flashlight itself worked fine, its it turn on switch that is the problem. When I need the light, switch it on, it doesn't turn on. This is totally unacceptable. The light is a great useable size and meets my objective,but, it has to work when needed. I have contacted the Rayovac Consumer dept. Since the light has a lifetime guarantee, hopefully, they will replace or repair it. I will update this review with the outcome of this problem. Wilmington,Delaware
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from energy saving mode I just bought this and for the life of my cannot find out how to put it into energy saving mode - could this be the switch issue everyone is talking about?
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Energy Saver mode Ok, I give up. How do I put this flashlight in energy saver mode?
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not indestructable I bought this flashlight one year ago and was pleased with it. However the screw back with the off/on switch broke the rubber split and then broke off. This is a good light if you are going to use it occasionally. However it is not virtually indestructible and I didn't even run over it or drop it off a building.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bright, if you can get to stay on. Use this every night at work. Worked great for the first couple weeks, now it stays on for a minute or two then cuts out. Sometimes have to wait a minute before it will turn back on.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst flashlight I've ever owned I bought this flashlight a few months ago because I liked the rugged feel of it and liked the idea of it being "indestructible". From day one I've never been able to get the light to turn on without having to press the button multiple times until it would finally turn on, eventually that turned into having to press the button multiple times and have to hold the button down when the light finally turned on and now the button has started to tear away from the body making it pretty much useless. So much for "Indestructible"! It's too bad Rayovac couldn't design this better, I really liked the feel of this light but never got any use out of it due to the frustration of having to screw with the power button.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so indestructible Great flashlight. I use it for my work in construction. Great lighting power, but the bottom end cap has broke and it can't be fixed. I read the warranty and I have to ship my flashlight to usa (I live in Canada). So the shipping cost are higher than the value of a brand new one...
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Faulty Switch I loved this flashlight for the first few months. Bright beam. Solid construction. But now the on/off switch has some kind of a glitch. It will not stay on. It is completely unreliable. Very frustrating. Is there a fix to this defect?
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from push button is junk As others have said, I love the light. small, bright, aluminum body, 2 AA batteries, Ok price. BUT the push button is junk. I was given 2 for my birthday, used every day as a master plumber. I need a new push button [swapped parts to verify]
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Performance Switch Issues While we love the ergonomics, durability and light beam on this flashlight, there appears to be a failure on the switch. The flashlight will work for approximately 15mins and then completely shut off. I cannot recommend this flashlight.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good performance but rubber end cap ripped open For the price, the output performance is very good with a narrow and focused beam of light. It's a sturdy light that's nice to keep around. For this reason, I kept it in my car for emergencies. However, this lead to an issue with the rubber end cap tearing. I think it's from the heat of the car in the summer, but now the clicker's internal switch is exposed because the rubber end cap is torn. Not quite "virtually indestructible" if the end cap can rip open from just sitting around in a glove box. It still works, but certainly is no longer water resistant and will likely fail to operate soon.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice flashlight but goes out when needed most. I love the bright light and size. But, the darn thing will shut off by itself when you need it most. Will not stay on more than a few minutes at a time. Had to go to the website to find out how to put on the battery saver stage.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with performance... Bought 2 of these lights from HD and one is always dim even with new batteries and the other one the switch failed... Not more than 2 years old. Never dropped, just regular use. Only good thing is the rubber coated cap is good for holding it with your teeth.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from dont work half the time Not real happy with this flashlight I bought it for work use and it keeps turning itself off real pain in the butt started doing this after 1 day of use new batterys
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I just bought one, how does it switch to low? I only get one brightness, not two as advertised, but it seems bright
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked until batteries died! I bought this flashlight almost 6 months ago, I have put it to good use. Very durable, waterproof, usually didn't have a problem. Problem came when batteries died. Went to put new batteries in, doesn't work, tried cleaning metal up, still nothing, batteries tested good. Place I bought from doesn't carry them no more.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's total rubbish! I'm very disappointed in this Rayovac flashlight. My initial impression was favorable as Rayovac has been bringing their A-game to the budget friendly LED flashlight arena. The well machined and thick walled aluminum case on this flashlight telegraphed good things to come. Well, looks can be deceiving. It is difficult to get this flashlight to turn on. I've had times where I had to bang on the rear mounted button a dozen times before I could get the lamp to shine. That's ridiculous and unacceptable. It only gets worse from there. My purpose for using this flashlight is to illuminate my path of travel either in the woods or in storm drains at night. It's imperative that my flashlights work every time, all the time. This one fails to deliver. When you can get the lamp to light, it will only remain so for a brief period of time which varies from 30-seconds to about 3-minutes. My first regret is buying the piece of junk. My second regret is discarding both the receipt and product packaging. I would have returned this defective product for a full refund. Do yourself a huge favor. Don't buy this piece of junk. If you must, save the packaging and receipt. As you will want your money back in the form of a full refund.
Date published: 2018-06-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_DIY2AA-BC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rayovac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT